You are here

Log in or register to post comments
sambalis
sambalis's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 5:36am
Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers

High everybody!
I'm very happy to be here with you all, and many greetings from Greece!

I need your opinions or experiense (if any) on Digital power amps. Especially on Yamaha MX-D1!

smejias
smejias's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 11 months ago
Joined: Aug 25 2005 - 10:29am
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers

I personally have no experience with the MX-D1, but Michael Fremer reviewed it in the April 2005 issue of Stereophile, and it received a class B rating in our "Recommended Components" issue.

You can read the full review here:
http://stereophile.com/solidpoweramps/405yamaha/

sambalis
sambalis's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 5:36am
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers

Thank you Stephen for your answer.
I have already read this review! I'm looking for more personal experiense of people who own this amp!
Personally I drive the B&W Nautilus 802 with this amp and I'm very pleased!!
But this is my "personal" view!

fazeralarde
fazeralarde's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 11:48pm
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers

BTW what preamp you 're using with MX-D1? I'm asking cause I believe that the preamp is the most critical factor affecting the sound quality you 're receiving!

300Binary
300Binary's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 10:47am
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers

I have a Kenwood VRS-6100. Very nice

FeisalK
FeisalK's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Nov 11 2005 - 6:40pm
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers

I would like to see Stereophile investigate the Panasonic XR55's dual-amp/triple amp feature which is unique to it (at least I've not heard any of having this at all)

it's done (automatically I think) by the relays you see on the right hand side of the image below

also, if you have bi-wireable speakers, you can tell triple-amp!

It would have to be a stereo-only measurements test - the triple-amp doesn't work with multichannel setup; - why did they put such a thing into a receiver?

I think everyone would be interested in how much power output there actually is in dual- and triple- amping, and most importantly, how the sonic performance of the TI-Purepath stacks up. Objectively.

Also, just because there's overwhelming anecdotes about the infamous Panny break-in period, it would be interesting if the magazine could put the receiver thru the same 100hr period and invalidate (or *gasp* validate) those claims

FeisalK
FeisalK's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Nov 11 2005 - 6:40pm
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers


Quote:
<<I'd advise everybody to listen before posting opinions.>>

Are you saying, because someone makes a statement that one has not listened to what their ears have heard?

I think it's because "harsh and sterile" are the most common excuses trotted out by people who {have never heard | are unwilling to listen to} a class D amp. It's also a misconception borne out of lack of understanding of how class-D /PWM amplification works.

Those who have heard are usually more specific, as audiophiles usually are and able to elucidate what it is about the amp they like/dislike.

so, "harsh and sterile" = not heard a class-D amp.

commsysman
commsysman's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 27 min ago
Joined: Apr 4 2006 - 11:33am
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers

I had always assumed that a certain harshness might exist with class D amplifiers, but the Class A rating the PS AUDIO HCA2 received in Steroephile intrigues me. They have recently discontinued that one for their new GCA series amps which are supposed to be similar in design but improved. I look forward to a review of them in the future.

FeisalK
FeisalK's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Nov 11 2005 - 6:40pm
Re: Your Opinion on Digital Amplifiers


Quote:
... new GCA series amps which are supposed to be similar in design but improved. I look forward to a review of them in the future.

How about now? PS Audio GCC100 review

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading