You are here

Log in or register to post comments
ChrisLee
ChrisLee's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Nov 7 2005 - 10:05pm
Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??

What is going on at Stereophile? The latest issue only had ONE cd review, the Recording of the Month. Cmon folks! This whole hobby is ABOUT MUSIC, not equipment. Funny/sad how the US industry pushes and pushes newer and more expensive equipment...compare this to Europe or Asia where music plays a much larger role in audio rags.

We can do better!

smejias
smejias's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 9 months ago
Joined: Aug 25 2005 - 10:29am
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??


Quote:
We can do better!

No argument there. However, I'd say that this hobby is about music and equipment. And the February issue is the "Records to Die For" issue, with short reviews of over 60 recordings.

In March, we'll return to the more familiar Record Review format.

ChrisLee
ChrisLee's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Nov 7 2005 - 10:05pm
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??

I totally agree, and yes, the Records to Die For is very enjoyable and I look forward to that issue. Either way, glad to hear your reg. format is coming back. It's a great way to hear new music whether I like it or not
Thanks Stephen for the post.

rvance
rvance's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 month ago
Joined: Sep 8 2007 - 9:58am
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??

Another thing to consider is how various recordings and performances are referenced in the equipment reviews. While these references may not be in review format, much valuable information can be gleaned from the reviewer's comments about the content and emotional impact of their favorite records. It becomes apparent as you read the equipment reviews that the tested components are evaluated on their ability to convey this music, not just meet measurement criteria. Stereophile equipment reviews consistently reference a greater variety of recordings than any other magazine. In many cases these recordings are worth seeking out.

gkc
gkc's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Feb 24 2006 - 11:51am
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??

The "Records to Die For" survey is a once-a-year feature that I find very valuable. Nothing, in my view, is sacrificed in the name of "the music" by devoting a few pages a year to give an overview of what Stereophile staff members are listening to. Quite the opposite. Surveys have their place, and it is an essential place within the context of more specific and extensive equipment and music reviews that occur throughout the rest of the year. This annual survey gives the excellent staff at the magazine a chance to stand back and look at the big picture.

I am, frankly, puzzled by the complaint lodged as a heading to this thread. If an overview of the year's work doesn't serve "music," then what DOES?

I hereby complain against the complainer. As if anybody ought to give a shit what I complain about. Stereophile does an excellent job of balancing its attention to the music against its critiques of the machinery asked to play that music. We readers reap a bountful harvest of both, throughout the year.

Happy tunes. Screw the Giants.

jazzfan
jazzfan's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 8:55am
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??


Quote:
....Happy tunes. Screw the Giants.

Now Clifton, play nice. By winning Super Bowl XLII the Giants made what would have been a very good Super Bowl into perhaps the greatest Super Bowl of all time or, at the very, least one of the most unforgettable. As a long time NY Giants fan presently living in Europe I was able to watch the game at an Irish brew pub in Paris. Here in the European time zone the game started at 12:30 am and didn't end until 4:00 am but I had no trouble staying awake for every glorious minute of it. Plus I had the added benefit of watching all the overly cocky New England fans eat plenty of humble pie and quite a bit of crow.

GO GIANTS!!!

Edit: It just occurred to me that perhaps the reason for your rancor towards the Giants is that you foolishly gave away the points and bet against them. If so, then all I can say is shame on you.

Poor Audiophile
Poor Audiophile's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Feb 14 2006 - 7:35pm
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??

I agree Clifton, except I don't care about the Giants.lol
The staff does an excellent job!!

KBK
KBK's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 30 2007 - 12:30pm
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??

yes. Does the fashion industry directly talk about sex all the time? of course not. But the clothes are all about the framing the package for sex, etc. Yet it is never spoken of. We allow ourselves to understand that the equipment is all in service of the music. It may not be mentioned, but that's what it's about. The magazines are about the method, not the madness. Madness mags are called 'music review magazines'. Method mags are all about the equipment required to 'get there' aka...audio equipment review magazines.

gkc
gkc's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Feb 24 2006 - 11:51am
Re: Where's the Music Reviews What's happening to our hobby??

You can have the fashion. I'll take the sex.

Please. Someone. Anyone. Oops. Female, I mean. Damn! As usual, nobody cares about my, er, needs.

Fashion models are too skinny. But, hey! -- I may be a Reubens man, but who am I to be picky?

Damn the clothes! Take 'em off! Who needs "framing"?

Now. Ahem. What was it we were talking about? Oh, yeah. The music, as opposed to the gear that plays it. Hmmm. Don't you need both? Doesn't Stereophile give us both?

Let me try this again. Fashion:Sex::Equipment:Music. I don't get it.

Can't I please have the music, the equipment to play it on, AND the sex?

Shit. Looks like another night of dry-humpin' my speakers, while running a 30 Hz test tone through 'em.

KBK, ya lost me.

Happy listening, anyways...whatever turns you on is okay with me.

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading