You are here

Log in or register to post comments
Colnmary
Colnmary's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 month ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 3:32am
Too many Pre amp reviews for me

Too many reviews of pre amps in the issue and all of them good. I'd like to see more variety reviewed rather than reading much the same review after review.

Monty
Monty's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 16 2005 - 6:55pm
Re: Too many Pre amp reviews for me

I'm in favor of even more pre-amp reviews. Take a look at the recommended components as of late. Pre-amps have all but disappeared.

More, more, more!

mtodde
mtodde's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 13 2005 - 12:59am
Re: Too many Pre amp reviews for me

I'm shopping for a pre amp so keep 'em coming! I'd love to see you review the Modwright and Blue Circle units.

Buddha
Buddha's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 1 month ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 10:24am
Re: Too many Pre amp reviews for me

This raises a great issue.

My last pre-amp purchase was 1993, and I'm not in the market, but I still read the new reviews. It's not that they are only interesting when I want to shop, but the descriptions of equipment help me listen better.

Reading a review that points out subtle sounds or makes observations about system set-up can be very valuable, even when I'm not reading with an eye on buying.

There can be useful tidbits in almost any review. Also, they help the reader get a fix on what a reviewer's slants might be and help place his reviews of other components in a better context.

Besides, no month is so long that I won't have time to read everything twice by the time I get the next one! That goes more to my audio disease than anything else, though...

Monty
Monty's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 16 2005 - 6:55pm
Re: Too many Pre amp reviews for me

" But there are no differences between pre-amps operating within normal parameters "
So, what exactly are all those electronic parts crammed in those boxes? And what about circuit design and layout? Or what about power supply shielding? How 'bout passive vs active gain, no difference there either?

Help me out here. Enlighten me with your vast knowledge in electronics. I'm always looking to save some cash.

Anthony Tam
Anthony Tam's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Oct 6 2005 - 2:06pm
Re: Too many Pre amp reviews for me

Take the blue pill, and you carry on hearing whatever you want to hear.

Take the red pill, and the high-end will show you what hi-fidelity audio reproduction is really about.

smejias
smejias's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 4 days ago
Joined: Aug 25 2005 - 10:29am
Re: Too many Pre amp reviews for me


Quote:
If you can't hear the difference between two preamps under blind testing conditions, save your money and put it into speakers and recordings.

I'd just like to refer you to our thoughts concerning discussions of blind tests.

The gist of it is this:
Any posting that demands proof for their opinions on sound quality, whether that proof be in the form of questions about blind testing or ABX testing, etc, is inappropriate and will be deleted. If anyone wishes to discuss blind tests then they are welcome to do so in specific threads about that subject.

With that in mind, please play nice and have fun.
Thanks.

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading