You are here

Log in or register to post comments
kana813
kana813's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: Sep 9 2005 - 2:45pm
TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements

TAS reviewer R.E. Greene continues to feel the need to bash JA's measurements see:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/regsaudioforum/message/26239

He then went out of of his way to bash YG speakers and their designer here:

http://www.avguide.com/forums/are-yg-speakers-hype-or-the-real-deal?page=1

I alerted JA and Mr.Mr.Geva to this unprofessional behavior.

Mr.Geva has joined REG forum and posted these remarks:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/regsaudioforum/message/26436

It must be very hard for JA to stand by and watch REG bash his speaker measurements, when REG doesn't include any measurements in any of his TAS reviews.

IMO, TAS needs to dump this guy.

Buddha
Buddha's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 1 month ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 10:24am
Re: TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements

Hey, it's the only way REG will ever get his name mentioned in the same sentence with the word "Stereophile." No other way we'd talk about him, so, mission accomplished, I guess.

He's the Anne Coulter of audio.

mrlowry
mrlowry's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 3 months ago
Joined: May 30 2006 - 1:37pm
Re: TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements

I've always found it unprofessional that the guys at TAS take swipes at Stereophile. The fact that JA and crew have never responded in kind is a credit to their character. The only "response" that I've ever seen was then they slammed Michael Fremer for his review on the laser turntable and he wrote a letter toe the editor which they printed. Even in that letter MF's response was measured and professional.

How can they insult JA's measurements and dismiss all his hard work. THEY INCLUDE NO MEASUREMENTS! That would be like someone who can't swim criticizing Michael Phelps' swimming technique.

I mean look at his set ups, these were pulled off of his yahoo group by another forum member:


http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_Fs65B3ErRCs/SNBi_lh9sVI/AAAAAAAAAGU/h8qLFax04c0/s1600-h/Listening+room.jpg

Harbeth speakers on make shift stands, Bryston amp setting on the floor, components stacked on top of one another and a turntable that's on a flimsy looking stand. There's no concern for vibration isolation whatsoever. Nor does he show a concern for the radiating of noise from the power supply of one component to another. No power conditioner either. This can't be the recipe for great sound. Sadly this isn't a joke.


http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Fs65B3ErRCs/SNBk2DgN8bI/AAAAAAAAAGc/kncFGUGsRKs/s1600-h/Living+Room.jpg

Looks to be a Bryston Preamp sitting on top of a Sunfire amp (a H-U-G-E, HUGE no-no because the power supply of the amp MUST be radiating noise into the preamp which contains delicate signals) hooked up to a cheap direct drive turntable and a cheap looking CD player all setting on a fire place mantle. Isn't that metal firplace cover causing diffraction.

None of this is to say that those systems can't sound great but the chances are very, very slim.

RGibran
RGibran's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: Oct 11 2005 - 5:50pm
Re: TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements

Nice to see you sticking to your principles!

RG

mrlowry
mrlowry's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 3 months ago
Joined: May 30 2006 - 1:37pm
Re: TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements


Quote:
Nice to see you sticking to your principles!

RG

You just have it in for me today don't you? It would certainly be unprofessional for me to attack Mr. Greene if I worked for a competitor but I don't. Plus the photos are of his own taking.

As a professional reviewer shouldn't Mr. Greene and his system be held to a higher standard? How can he know what the gear is doing sonically when the noise floor (both electrically and mechanically) is potentially being increased so dramatically by poor setup. I've seen pictures or video of John Atkinson's, Michael Fremer's, and Wes Phillips' systems and all are much more orderly and carefully laid out, by MILES.

I'm not challenging Mr. Greene then hiding the details of my system. As you already know they are clear for all to read at http://forum.stereophile.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=60397&an=0&page=0#Post60397 and on my blog at http://audioexplorer.blogspot.com/. Ask me nearly anything about my system and I'll be more than glad to share. Nothing to hide I'm an open book. I'm not just talking the talk. I also walk the walk.

Buddha
Buddha's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 1 month ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 10:24am
Re: TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements


Quote:
Nice to see you sticking to your principles!

RG

Ziiinnggg!

Maybe REG has carefully arranged his gear over time for the best possible sound.

linden518
linden518's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Dec 12 2007 - 5:34am
Re: TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements

REG gets no love even from his cohorts at TAS. One reviewer - I think Valin - took some shots at him in Burmester CDP review for believing that Stanton carts were the be-all-end-all for him or something like that, and generally for his screwy & piggish ideas about audio. It was very amusing, as the reviewer didn't soften his blows at all.

kana813
kana813's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: Sep 9 2005 - 2:45pm
Re: TAS Reviewer continues to bash JA's measurements

Gee, now he

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading