You are here

Log in or register to post comments
Demondog
Demondog's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 4 hours ago
Joined: Feb 22 2009 - 5:01pm
Potential Stereophile Reviews?

Might there be a Stereophile review of the Cary SA-200.2 power amplifier in the works? This amp is calling to me, and I'm interested in finding out all I can about it.

While I'm at it, what's the chance of a review on Anthony Gallo's CL-4 or CL-3 from the Classico line? I'm interested in impressions of how it might compare to the GoldenEar's Triton Two.  Both the Gallo and GoldenEar look like they might be in the running for a highest value speaker award.

Lastly, I'm still waiting patently (hopefully not in vain?) for a follow up to the the Grace m903 review.

Regardless of reviews, I'll be checking out these products at local dealers  Plus I've made my reservation at the Denver Marriott Tech Center for RMAF. Can hardly wait!

Demondog
Demondog's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 4 hours ago
Joined: Feb 22 2009 - 5:01pm
Review Wishlist Addition.

Another speaker that I am really anxious to find out more about is the Revel Performa3 F206 or F208. These are a more conventional design than the one's mentioned above, and would certainly be in the running if I decide to go that way. I understand they are not in production yet, but are scheduled for December. That fits pretty well with my purchasing schedule.

- I know sequential posts are bad forum etiquette, so I was going to just add this information to the first post. Seems the edit/modify button is missing in the first post, though not this one.

tom collins
tom collins's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: Apr 3 2007 - 11:54am
don't worry

Don't worry about sequential posts, no one is paying attention anyway anymore.  This used to be a pretty interesting place until they improved it.

tom

Ariel Bitran
Ariel Bitran's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 day ago
Joined: Jun 1 2007 - 2:14pm
Booo

No Negative Nancys here.

or Downer Debbys.

hey demondog - I dont see any of those products in our upcoming review list except for the Grace M903 followup which is scheduled for late 2012/early 2013.

i've forwarded your post to our editors though.

thanks.

John Atkinson
John Atkinson's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 hours 18 min ago
Joined: Nov 7 2010 - 3:31pm
Re: Reviews

Quote:
Another speaker that I am really anxious to find out more about is the Revel Performa3 F206 or F208

We have been waiting patiently for a review sample of one of the new Performas. It looks like Erick Lichte will be getting a pair in July, while Bob Reina is keen to review the less-expensive Gallo.

John Atkinson

Editor, Stereophile

Demondog
Demondog's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 4 hours ago
Joined: Feb 22 2009 - 5:01pm
Great!

I'll look to the future with anticipation.

JRT
JRT's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Joined: Jul 12 2007 - 12:36pm
Mr. Atkinson... Reporting on

Mr. Atkinson...

Reporting on Axpona 2011, in April of that year, you mentioned this about the Linkwitz Lab Orion 4 open baffle dipole loudspeaker, "Definitely one of my two best sounds at Axpona [2011], along with the BAT-Scaena room, was the Orion 4 dipole speaker (from $14,750/pair with analog line-level crossover), designed by Siegfried Linkwitz and with custom enclosures made by Wood Artistry."

Reporting about the Capital Audiofest 2012, in July, you mentioned about the Philharminic Audio model 3, "When I asked the price of the floorstanding Philharmonic 3 (front), which I had heard producing a big sound with extended low frequencies on a recording of Copland's Fanfare for the Common Man, driven by an AVA amplifier, I was expecting an answer of the usual "many thousands of dollars." Instead, I was told the speaker costs just $2800/pair! That is a lot of speaker for the money. The 3 combines a Raal 10D ribbon tweeter crossing over at 2900Hz to a BG Neo 8 planar-magnetic driver in an open-back enclosure. The bottom enclosure, isolated from the upper with a 1/25" vibration-absorbing pad, handles frequencies below 650Hz and loads an 8" Scanspeak Revelator woofer with a transmission line. Less-expensive versions of the speaker, the Philharmonic 1 and 2, differ only in the drive-units used."

I'd like to see an in-depth reviews on both Siegfried Linkwitz's Orion 4 in combination with his external subwoofers, and Dr. R. Dennis Murphy's Philharmonic 2. Those are both stellar performance value achievements in their respective categories.

In combination with a wall mounted TV, a good home theater receiver, and an Oppo BDP, three of the Philharmonic 2 loudspeakers (~$1k each) would be a good front end to a dual-use home theater setup that is also good at playing music. Dual use is a common application. You could report on that music oriented application portion, maybe get your sister magazine to report in parallel on home theater aspects. Taking that further, you could even sell a funky issue that includes both magazines, each with its own front cover and no back cover, focused on dual use systems.

branon
branon's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Oct 7 2011 - 7:31pm
CL3-CL4
Demondog wrote:

 

While I'm at it, what's the chance of a review on Anthony Gallo's CL-4 or CL-3 from the Classico line? I'm interested in impressions of how it might compare to the GoldenEar's Triton Two.  Both the Gallo and GoldenEar look like they might be in the running for a highest value speaker award.

L

 

I am very interested in a review of the Classicos too..specially now that the price has gone down by $800-1000. 

Demondog
Demondog's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 4 hours ago
Joined: Feb 22 2009 - 5:01pm
Man!

Waiting for reviews is killing me. I'm this  ><  close to purchasing a pair of Revel F208 speakers. I've listened to them a couple times, and they sound pretty good in what I consider a less than ideal setup. I may bring them home to demo, as the seller is OK with that. The big thing though, is that they are cosmetically acceptable to my wife. Haha   If I were to read a favorable review on the F208 right now, I'd probably get them next week.

Also thought the Grace m903 follow up was going to show up in the February issue, but maybe somebody's waiting for my subscription to run out, so that I'll  renew. Or maybe I'll just keep buying stuff before the review, and see if I made the right decision later.  It's working out so far.

Just joking.

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading