You are here

Log in or register to post comments
FlorianO
FlorianO's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: May 6 2006 - 2:51pm
Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?

Hello all,

As the post subject suggests this is mostly intended for Wes Phillips but I guess the editor could enlighten me just as much

At the end of the CES 2006 show report entry about Anthony Gallos new/improved Reference 3.1 there is a short sentence that suggests an upcoming review on those speakers by Wes P (and the traditional measurements by the editor -- one can hope/humbly ask for )

Barred any editorial-related decision on not to comment on upcoming reviews (or similar such motives) can someone please confirm my understanding or even suggest an ETA for the review.

With many thanks in advance,

Florian

FlorianO
FlorianO's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: May 6 2006 - 2:51pm
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?

Thanks for the very quick reply. Looking forward for the review.

Regards,

Florian

MSR-ATTY
MSR-ATTY's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: May 16 2006 - 7:28am
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?

I have the original Gallo Reference 3s, and they sound great. I don't know whether the 3.1s (which I've heard at a dealer) are much improved despite the raise in price and despite the 6Moons online review. In any event, worth every penny either way.

sauruman
sauruman's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Oct 21 2006 - 6:00am
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?

Hi - just resurrecting this thread to see if there's any chance of the much desired Gallo 3.1 review coming. I haven't seen any comprehensive measurement-centric data on these but would love to.

C'mon - it'd be like an early christmas gift for the loyal readers!

Trekker
Trekker's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Oct 27 2006 - 1:48pm
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?

May be Wes is waiting to review Gallo's upcoming Gallo Gallo Reference 5LS


Quote:
... At 78" tall, the Reference 5LS is blessed with a negligible footprint of a mere 7" wide by 11" deep to create a very slender profile. As a line source array, it mates seven of Gallo's patented CDTII tweeters with eight carbon fiber midranges each housed in their own spherical enclosure.

...

While most line sources must horizontally offset their tweeters and mids, Gallo employs his drivers alternating in a single line to eliminate the phase and dispersion problems otherwise caused. Twelve custom aluminum 4" woofers then fire out the back to equal the cone surface of a 15" subwoofer while offering speed and transparency a single large driver cannot match. ...

sauruman
sauruman's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Oct 21 2006 - 6:00am
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?

Crikey! 3-4x the cost of the ref 3.1 is too rich for this cowboy. :-(

by the way, does anyone have a picture of a completely black ref 3.1? I've heard that they exist (i.e. instead of stainless, I think the metal is painted or powder coated black. I'd love to see a picture if someone would be so kind as to post one. Google has nothing here.

In summary - Wes, PLS let us know if/when we'll see your review on these popular speakers and if anyone has pics of the non-ss versions, pls post a link!

Thanks!

Quote:
"May be Wes is waiting to review Gallo's upcoming Gallo Gallo Reference 5LS"

Trekker
Trekker's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Oct 27 2006 - 1:48pm
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?


Quote:
by the way, does anyone have a picture of a completely black ref 3.1?

... if anyone has pics of the non-ss versions, pls post a link!

Thanks!

Here's a pic of Black Ref 3's

Hope this helps.

sauruman
sauruman's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Oct 21 2006 - 6:00am
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?


Quote:

Quote:
by the way, does anyone have a picture of a completely black ref 3.1?

Here's a pic of Black Ref 3's

Hope this helps.

Thank you very much!

Seraph
Seraph's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Oct 31 2006 - 6:06am
Re: Paging Wes P: Gallo Reference 3 review ?

I also have the completely black ref 3s. Some pics here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/seraph/tags/gallo

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading