You are here

Log in or register to post comments
rvance
rvance's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 month ago
Joined: Sep 8 2007 - 9:58am
Kal's Lexicon Review

I'm going to echo rgibran's comment at the end of the blood-soaked Scharf Lexicon thread and say great job, Kal.

Everyone who jumped the blunderbuss and accused Stereophile of shilling for high end abusers should read it.

Elk
Elk's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Dec 26 2006 - 6:32am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

Agreed.

I also appreciate the thoughtful, measured tone of the article.

Buddha
Buddha's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 11 months ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 10:24am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

We should, of course, be celebrating the first review ever to conclude that two different units sound identical.

(To be fair, Wes almost did that on an amplifier review a few issues back.)

Now, imagine a review of an aftermarket tweak case/cabinet that placed the Oppo into the same cabinet Lexicon used, with 'solid aluminum isolating faceplate,' 'improved transformer damping,' etc...

You think then the two units would be perceived as performing differently?

Yes, they would.

Maybe not by Kal, but you know what I mean.

Imagine that - someone reviews the 'cabinet mod' and concludes there is no difference. The subjectivists would eat that subject alive and the objectivists would rejoice! It would lead to thousand-post threads full of invective.

If Kal is out there, have you ever noticed an effect of something like a Myrtle Wood Block placed under a unit? Your take on the Lexicon/Oppo identicality is actually very controversial in the context of much smaller changes people make that get touted as being clearly audible!

I believe Kal's experience, but it sure opens a Pandroa's Box rearding what does what!

Kal Rubinson
Kal Rubinson's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 19 min ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 9:34am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

Of course, I am here.

And, yes, I have experienced hearing such differences (Ayre delivered a bunch of these with the V-6 amp I reviewed a while back) but I have to add that I am somewhat suspicious of my own perceptions in such cases. There are all sorts of complications in such experiences and I am no less human for being influenced by placebo and suggestion. That does not mean that the differences are not real but, also, it does not mean that they are. When the differences are so slight, they require additional scrutiny.

For myself, I tend to discount things like these when there still are so many other things that (1) are easily explained with understood science or (2) make larger differences. I try to focus on the big picture, if possible.

Kal

Ajani
Ajani's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 21 hours ago
Joined: Mar 19 2008 - 7:07pm
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review


Quote:
I'm going to echo rgibran's comment at the end of the blood-soaked Scharf Lexicon thread and say great job, Kal.

Everyone who jumped the blunderbuss and accused Stereophile of shilling for high end abusers should read it.

Agreed...

That was a very good review (even more so considering it was written before the Audioholics review was released)....

It was even handed - gave all the facts, kept emotions in check (outrage is best left to us forum posters) and yet in no way sounded like an attempt to suck up to Lexicon or recommend the product to the general public...

I love how Kal seperates "most buyers" from "Lexicon's customer base" in his conclusion...

Buddha
Buddha's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 11 months ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 10:24am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

I left my March edition on a plane.

Do the two units have the same power cord?

Kal Rubinson
Kal Rubinson's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 19 min ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 9:34am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review


Quote:
I left my March edition on a plane.

Do the two units have the same power cord?

Of course not. They each have an identical power cord.

Joking aside, I usually leave the power cord in the shipping box as my rack has a power cord running to each shelf from the distribution box and all the cords used there are identical.

Kal

Elk
Elk's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Dec 26 2006 - 6:32am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

If I recall correctly, the cord that comes with the Oppo has a connector that is uncommon (at least in my limited experience).

The connector is not an IEC C13 like we see on most equipment, nor the typical small two-pin C7 that is on many double insulated components such as DVD players.

Instead it is much larger two-pin. Not something I otherwise have around, although it is probably another standard in the power connecting world.

Kal Rubinson
Kal Rubinson's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 19 min ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 9:34am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review


Quote:
If I recall correctly, the cord that comes with the Oppo has a connector that is uncommon (at least in my limited experience).

The connector is not an IEC C13 like we see on most equipment, nor the typical small two-pin C7 that is on many double insulated components such as DVD players.

Instead it is much larger two-pin. Not something I otherwise have around, although it is probably another standard in the power connecting world.

Really? I hadn't noticed and I have 3 Oppos with which I swap power cords almost indiscriminately!

Kal

Elk
Elk's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Dec 26 2006 - 6:32am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

I just double checked as I started to doubt it.

Here is a picture of the critter (although my cord is straight, not 90 degree: IEC C17

Here is the inlet: C18 inlet

As it turns out, it would be reasonable not to notice; a C18 inlet will accept a C13 line.

My previous DVD player used the little two prong connector. I used a PS Audio "power punch" cord with it. I thus needed to swap the cord. It didn't occur to me to check whether a C13 would fit until now.

The cord supplied by Oppo is a nice, beefy, good quality cord.

struts
struts's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 3 days ago
Joined: Feb 1 2007 - 12:02pm
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review


Quote:
As it turns out, it would be reasonable not to notice; a C18 inlet will accept a C13 line.


C18 sockets make it much easier to use accessory power cords on double-insulated equipment since there are very few C7-terminated aftermarket cords.

For equipment with C8 connectors this is a neat little workaround.

Elk
Elk's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Dec 26 2006 - 6:32am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

This makes sense, especially after I took a closer look.

Buddha
Buddha's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 11 months ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 10:24am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

I wonder if Kal's AC cords just make everything sound the same.

Or, perhaps they could be so potent at improving the sound, that everything ends up sounding perfect!

tom collins
tom collins's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 weeks ago
Joined: Apr 3 2007 - 11:54am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review

sorry for being late in posting this. however, i am periodically banned from the site. seriously, every few days or weeks, its totally random, i get the message that i my ip address is banned from the site. my home email has never worked with this forum. i have discussed with stephen and there seems to be no explaination for this.

anyway, i wanted to give kudos to kal for calling them as he saw them. it must have been very difficult to do because we are so conditioned to equating money with quality and the fact that the lex looks like such a more high value product. i also like how you left it with the reader to decide whether the dealer backup and better casing was worth the extra $. clearly, it may be to some people. i thought that was a classy way to exit.
so, please accept my belated appreciation.

smejias
smejias's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 10 months ago
Joined: Aug 25 2005 - 10:29am
Re: Kal's Lexicon Review


Quote:
seriously, every few days or weeks, its totally random, i get the message that i my ip address is banned from the site. my home email has never worked with this forum. i have discussed with stephen and there seems to be no explaination for this.


I can only guess it's some sort of firewall or privacy control issue, but I really don't know. I'm sorry I don't have a better explanation.

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading