You are here

Log in or register to post comments
Celestial Sound
Celestial Sound's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 4 weeks ago
Joined: May 3 2020 - 1:06pm
Why Stereophile is not reviewing any of the Buchardt speakers?

Nowadays many youtube reviewers and online magazines reviewed the Buchardt s400 speakers and all of them are positive. Shouldn't stereophile ask for a pair, and set them on the test bench? I really like to hear what the stereophile experts have to say about them :)

Kal Rubinson
Kal Rubinson's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 hours 21 min ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 9:34am
I am wondering about that,

I am wondering about that, too. :-)

Celestial Sound
Celestial Sound's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 4 weeks ago
Joined: May 3 2020 - 1:06pm
Kal, just ask Mads Buchardt

Kal, just ask Mads Buchardt to send you a pair for a review :) I'm sure he won't hesitate to send the speakers to your capable hands :)

thekellers1
thekellers1's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: Jan 8 2021 - 2:08pm
I believe the nature of

I believe the nature of "review organizations" is they can't or don't do a review of a company who is at 100% capacity. What's the point. And or they don't review who don't advertise. Not saying Stereophile does either..but a lot of magazines/companies do.

Honestly I don't want to read a review on a pair of speakers I can get.

Kal Rubinson
Kal Rubinson's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 hours 21 min ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 9:34am
thekellers1 wrote:
Quote:

Honestly I don't want to read a review on a pair of speakers I can get.

Are you sure you mean that?

Jim Austin
Jim Austin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 19 min ago
Joined: Nov 7 2010 - 3:34pm
thekellers1 wrote: I believe
thekellers1 wrote:
I believe the nature of "review organizations" is they can't or don't do a review of a company who is at 100% capacity. What's the point. And or they don't review who don't advertise. Not saying Stereophile does either..but a lot of magazines/companies do.
Not all "review organizations" have the same nature. It is true however that we avoid reviewing components when there's a risk they'll be unobtainium. It is also true that there is no connection between a company's decision to advertise in Stereophile and our decision to review (or not to review) a product, or the content of that review. I occasionally get grateful letters from heads of companies that have benefitted from a positive Stereophile review even though they have never advertised and have no plans to. I believe in something like Karma: We do our job well and in a principled way and we'll benefit in the end. Even if that company does not eventually advertise, another will.

Jim Austin, Editor
Stereophile

RBinDC
RBinDC's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: Sep 12 2020 - 2:40pm
Buchardt S500 active speakers are available after February 1

The reviews of the Buchardt S500 active speakers (and the A400 passive speakers) are scheduled to be available in February. As I ordered the S500 speakers for the 45 day review, I would really appreciate the opinion of one of Stereophile's experts. I have mixed feeling about purchasing an all-in-one system that offers no upgrade capability. But the utube reviews (e.g., John Darko) state that one has to spend a lot more money to match the performance of the S500 system, which costs US$ 4400.00.

John Darko claims that the S500 system blows away the KEF LS-50 Wireless II system.

  • X