You are here

Log in or register to post comments
rzr
rzr's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 5 months ago
Joined: Jul 28 2016 - 12:37pm
Why is Fremer still doing reviews?

Just read Fremer's latest Analog Corner and what a joke. He states that listening to Tidal and Qobuz sounded like cardboard. Before I say something that I shouldn't, let me state a couple of things:
1) Fremer is biased toward vinyl which is no secret
2) Fremer compares everything digital to his $300,000 analog rig
3) He goes cheap on anything digital and then complains why it sounds so bad.

Awhile back, Fremer was reviewing a Moon Dac (maybe a dac/streamer), but he refused to spend $100 for an external disk drive to review certain functions of the unit, but he will spend $100 for the 2 lots that hold his cartridge to the tonearm.

I'm guessing, that Fremer has a cheap dac and uses a cheaper copper internet pop which would make anything coming off the internet sound like crap.

Before Fremer opens his mouth bad mouthing digital, I want him to purchase a $300,000 digital setup that equals what he spent on his analog setup and get a fiber 1G network coming into his house. If he does this, he will sell all his vinyl or at least lower his bias.

FWIW: I have a dac that is on the Stereophile A+ list of dacs (which cost less that 5% of the cost of Fremer's analog setup) and I sold my 5-digit turntable and everything analog because digital sounded so much better.

Glotz
Glotz's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 19 hours ago
Joined: Nov 20 2008 - 9:30am
You're a joke.

And biased against him and analog in the same way.

Pampero
Pampero's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 6 months ago
Joined: May 28 2016 - 11:13pm
Focus on this.......

I'd like to focus on this comment:

rzr wrote:

....... He states that listening to Tidal and Qobuz sounded like cardboard.............

Assuming this is a representative statement , I can't agree with MF's conclusions since I have enjoyed streaming music on my system (a good one) and had that transformative feeling you get when your rig is cooking and the music is pouring out. You know what I mean. It can sound great.

I haven't read the particular article referenced but I have read enough of MF's writing to know he doesn't just prefer vinyl, he hates digital. I can understand the preference but as an owner and user of different sources, I think there are some great advantages to digital that our current analog forms can't achieve. I'm not going to list them, you should all know what they are but they are numerous and demonstrable. You pay, you choose. Maybe you even choose both, especially if you have records and have been in the hobby long enough, as I have, to own most of the "legacy" sources.

I enjoy MF's articles and POV as respects his knowledge of disc recording and playback. I don't buy a total renunciation of digital audio, especially considering the vast majority of available music has at one time or another (and often many times) been digitized, even if it is being delivered as an analog product.

I'm not torqued by Fremer in the least as I find him very entertaining and engaging. And I'm in this to be entertained! But I do think he has that part wrong and I don't think it's unfair to point that out. Plus it makes great conversation.

COmusicaddict
COmusicaddict's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 5 months ago
Joined: Dec 13 2020 - 12:00pm
Mikey just needs to avoid reviewing digital equipment

I've enjoyed his analog writing for a long, long time. I totally ignore his opinions on digital because of his fairly well-know bias against it and all-encompassing love for vinyl. I love my modest vinyl rig and use it. It can be special at times, depending more so on the recording.
I think it's fair for the poster to question why he's allowed to review digital stuff, that's all; I wouldn't cut him off. :-)

Michael Fremer
Michael Fremer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Joined: Jun 26 2006 - 9:49am
You Gave Me a Great Laugh!

First of all, partner, calm down.

I own a dCS Vivaldi One SACD player/DAC/streamer. It's pretty good. I use ROON and have more than 7000 high resolution files on the system and hundreds of SACDs. I have Verizon FIOS so have fiber optic coming directly into my home. I did it just for you!

Secondly, I have reviewed over the years and continue to review budget and mid-priced analog gear but I guess you don't read those reviews.
Thirdly, the name of my column is ANALOGCORNER. Capische?
Fourth: I do enjoy listening to hi-rez files and Qobuz and TIDAL
Fifth: Generally I prefer the vinyl versions of whatever I can also stream, even when reviewing moderately priced analog gear.
Sixth: I often get emails from readers like this one:
"Hi Michael, one of your videos you talked about the Rough Mix album. I bought a copy at a local used record store because I have the high res digital version and really like it. I didn’t know anything about the lp except I prefer it over the digital version."

I am not alone in my preference for vinyl playback, nor are you alone in your preference for digital. However, this is a bit harsh, don't you think? "Why is Fremer Still Reviewing?" I do!

rzr wrote:

Just read Fremer's latest Analog Corner and what a joke. He states that listening to Tidal and Qobuz sounded like cardboard. Before I say something that I shouldn't, let me state a couple of things:
1) Fremer is biased toward vinyl which is no secret
2) Fremer compares everything digital to his $300,000 analog rig
3) He goes cheap on anything digital and then complains why it sounds so bad.

Awhile back, Fremer was reviewing a Moon Dac (maybe a dac/streamer), but he refused to spend $100 for an external disk drive to review certain functions of the unit, but he will spend $100 for the 2 lots that hold his cartridge to the tonearm.

I'm guessing, that Fremer has a cheap dac and uses a cheaper copper internet pop which would make anything coming off the internet sound like crap.

Before Fremer opens his mouth bad mouthing digital, I want him to purchase a $300,000 digital setup that equals what he spent on his analog setup and get a fiber 1G network coming into his house. If he does this, he will sell all his vinyl or at least lower his bias.

FWIW: I have a dac that is on the Stereophile A+ list of dacs (which cost less that 5% of the cost of Fremer's analog setup) and I sold my 5-digit turntable and everything analog because digital sounded so much better.

  • X