You are here

Log in or register to post comments
jazzfan's picture
Last seen: 1 year 12 months ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 8:55am
Van Morrison - Still On Top - Limited Edition

The recent Van Morrison greatest hits collection, "Still On Top", is being given the deluxe treatment with the release of the 3 CD "Still On Top - Limited Edition".

Here's the complete track listing:

1. Jackie Wilson Said (I'm In Heaven When You Smile)
2. Dweller On The Threshold
3. Whenever God Shines His Light - (with Cliff Richard)
4. Moondance
5. Bright Side Of The Road
6. Brown Eyed Girl
7. Wavelength
8. Crazy Love
9. Someone Like You
10. When Will I Ever Learn
11. To Live In God
12. Tore Down A La Rimbaud
13. Wild Night
14. Gloria - (with Them)
15. Real Real Gone
16. Into The Mystic
17. In The Garden
18. Saint Dominic's Preview
19. Stranded
1. Precious Time
2. Domino
3. Here Comes The Night - (with Them)
4. Little Village
5. And It Stoned Me
6. Days Like This
7. Have I Told You Lately?
8. Cleaning Windows
9. Baby Please Don't Go - (with Them)
10. Back On Top
11. Vanlose Stairway
12. Celtic New Year
13. Irish Heartbeat - (with The Chieftains)
14. Healing Game, The - (alternate take)
15. Full Force Gale
16. Warm Love
17. Did Ye Get Healed?
18. Tupelo Honey
19. Wonderful Remark
1. Hey Mr. DJ
2. In The Forest
3. Queen Of The Slipstream
4. Rave On John Donne
5. Hymns To The Silence
6. Crazy Jane On God - (with Moving Hearts)
7. Rough God Goes Riding
8. Steal My Heart Away
9. One Irish Rover
10. Listen To The Lion
11. Streets Of Arklow
12. Beauty Of The Days Gone By, The
13. Take It Where You Find It
14. Coney Island

As a lifelong Van fan ("Moondance" was one of the very first albums that I ever bought, way back when it was first released in 1970 and I've been buying, listening to and loving almost every Van recording since) I'd say that these 51 tracks are an almost perfect cross section of the vast and wonderful Van Morrison catalog.

I do have a few minor quibbles (what greatest hits collection doesn't have a few minor problems according to the die hard fan). For example, while the excellent "Saint Dominic's Preview" is included, it is the very fine original studio version rather than the transcendent live version from "It's Too Late To Stop Now". In fact, I don't believe that there is any live material on this set. A very unfortunate omission since a good Van's live show is something truly special. Another glaring omission is the three song suite which closes 1979's "Into The Music" (And the Healing Has Begun / It's All in the Game / You Know What They're Writing About).

But minor problems aside, this collection is very fine example of how to put together an anthology from a performer with a very large and varied catalog but a catalog not filled with lots radio "hits". Again for example, this collection has a nice balance of Van's more well known songs with those songs from the other sides of Van's musical personality, such as Moondance, Have I Told You Lately?, Domino, Tupelo Honey (hits), Irish Heartbeat - (with The Chieftains) (Celtic songs), Rave On John Donne, Healing Game, The - (alternate take), Listen To The Lion (mystic songs) plus early material and even one or two rarities.

(Note: I also made the same post on for those of you who frequent that forum as well)

  • X