You are here

Log in or register to post comments
Lamont Sanford
Lamont Sanford's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 1 month ago
Joined: Mar 31 2006 - 8:32pm
Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?

http://www.klipsch.com/products/details/cornwall-iii.aspx

Personally, I never heard of it. I was just browsing to see what was the current equivalent of the discontinued Klipsch Heresy II. BTW, that would be the Klipsch Heresy III.

http://www.klipsch.com/products/details/heresy-iii.aspx

Any opinions on that one as well?

Well we're movin on up,
To the east side.
To a deluxe apartment in the sky.
Movin on up
To the east side.
We finally got a piece of the pie.

Actually, I'm putting together a Christmas wish list since oil has been over $60 a barrel forever. My wife should be getting another great Christmas bonus. She works in oil and I work for the government. But I can "lick" her any day of the week. No pun intended.

mrlowry
mrlowry's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 4 months ago
Joined: May 30 2006 - 1:37pm
Re: Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?

My brother has a pair of vintage Cornwalls that he runs with a pair of Audio Research monoblock amplifiers. He feels that they make the music more alive than any of the high end speakers that he has owned. I think that he is nuts, but he's happy so I say to each his own. Klipsh speakers are affordable, well made, and they are good people with which to do business. I'd love to see Stereophile review some of their models. I'm suprised that they haven't done so already what with SET amps being so popular these days.

cyclebrain
cyclebrain's picture
Offline
Last seen: 10 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Jun 16 2006 - 11:40pm
Re: Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?

I would love to read a modern review of the Klipschorn in Stereophile's reviews of classic equipment. Probably be a real bitch to do an anechoic measurement since the room is part of the horn. As a teen I was fasinated with Paul's speakers and tried to build my own copies. They all sucked and used a lot of plywood.

Jan Vigne
Jan Vigne's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Mar 18 2006 - 12:57pm
Re: Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?


Quote:
They all sucked and used a lot of plywood.

Yeah, well, so did Paul's.

CECE
CECE's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 7 months ago
Joined: Sep 17 2005 - 8:16am
Re: Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?

Do you think they Buried Paul K in a Klipsch cabinet?!!!!! It would be quite logical, I'm going in the WHISPER cabinets. The FOCUS woulda' worked but they are gone now. And I am taking them with me. Contrary to what is said, "you can't take it with you".....yes you can.

Jan Vigne
Jan Vigne's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Mar 18 2006 - 12:57pm
Re: Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?


Quote:
Do you think they Buried Paul K in a Klipsch cabinet?!!!!!

I think the idea of using a folded horn to save space only applies in Paris and New Orleans. Something tells me Paul didn't go down in anything made out of plywood. They might have buried him in his Mercedes.

Buddha
Buddha's picture
Offline
Last seen: 10 years 10 months ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 10:24am
Re: Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?

I'll go along with Klipsch...

The continuation of any audio product is a good thing.

People, pro or con, are well served by being able to hear the widest possible variety of products.

I have a pair of La Scala's, and don't really dig them, but I think it's important they are part of this hobby.

(I'm hoping a riser to elevate them and allow them their "pointing down" vantage point may make a difference - the treble seems too rolled off to my ears. To the point of it affecting midrange balance. They do have good PRaT... ...

For only 2K or so, I could upgrade things, but, damn, I can have a lot more audio fun for that same 2K. Ya know what I mean?)

Horns, in general, seem to have good "speed."

Jim Tavegia
Jim Tavegia's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 4:27pm
Re: Opinions on the return of the Klipsch Cornwall loudspeaker?

Try and get a home demo of a little Jolida 202/302 or a Prima Luna piece with the Klipsch. I think you will be pleasantly surprised. If you could mate a Jolida JD100 with either you should hear some magic.

I was told that AD is trying to get his mitts and ears on some of the reissue classic Klipsch speakers being reintroduced. They are not cheap, but certainly worth reviewing in an updated version(s). I hope this comes to pass and that the marketing people at Klipsch do not get cold feet or fear a poor review.

drjjpdc
drjjpdc's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: May 28 2011 - 4:38pm
Cornwall

According to this review the Cornwall actually has a nominal impedance closer to 5 ohms. The review came from here. https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/klipsch-heresy-iv-speaker-review.17853/

Impedance/Amplifier Requirements:
There are a couple areas that show up as resonance in the impedance/frequency response measurements. ~120Hz and ~400-600Hz both show signs of resonance (the former being very audible in my listening evaluations).
The tuning frequency of the enclosure is approximately 35Hz.
The minimum impedance dips to about 3.6 Ohms below 5Hz so keep this in mind. But, realistically, this speaker is closer to a 5 Ohm nominal load. A standard AVR would not be recommended for powering these speakers. A separate amplifier is recommended to drive this speaker to typical playback volumes.

  • X