The Rhapsody Project Sidebar 4: Rhapsody The Cast of Characters

Sidebar 4: Rhapsody The Cast of Characters

Project inspiration: Wes Phillips
Production: Hyperion Knight & John Atkinson
Engineering: John Atkinson, Wes Phillips, & Steven K. Lee
Editing/Mixing: John Atkinson
Executive Producer: Gretchen Grogan
Musician Liaison: Christine Johnson Rancier
Road Managers: John Bookwalter & David Hendrick
Steinway D piano: supplied by Washburn Piano Company, Albuquerque, NM.
Piano Technician: Charles Rempel
Booklet notes: Wes Phillips, Hyperion Knight, Gretchen Grogan, John Atkinson
Photography: Natalie Brown-Baca
Booklet Design: Suey Surprise

Recorded at the First United Methodist Church, Albuquerque, New Mexico, March 10-12, 1997.

Equipment used: two Brüel & Kjaer 4012, high-voltage, ½", cardioid microphones; two Brüel & Kjaer 4003, high-voltage, ½", omnidirectional microphones; Millennia Media high-voltage microphone cables; two Millennia Media HV-3B solid-state microphone preamplifiers; dCS 900D 24-bit A/D converter (cardioids); Manley 20-bit A/D converter (omnis); Sonic Frontiers UltraJitterbug (master reclock); AudioTruth (AudioQuest) Lapis x3 balanced interconnects; Apogee Wyde-Eye, Illuminati Orchid, and Madrigal MDC-1 AES/EBU datalinks; Nagra-D 4-channel, open-reel digital recorder; Dorrough AES/EBU peak/average level meter; Audio Engineering Associates LD-2020 Stereoscope; recorded and mixed with 24-bit resolution; CD master prepared and edited using the Sonic Solutions Sonic System v5.2, and dithered to 16-bit resolution using the Meridian 518 Mastering Converter.

Hyperion Knight thanks Joel Cea for his creative work in this recording, and is also very grateful to Carl Battaglia of the Kampel Foundation for his help in preparing the performances. He would also like to express his deep appreciation to Stereophile's Wes Phillips, John Atkinson, and Gretchen Grogan, as well as his attorney, Kirstin Knight, for their enormous efforts to make this Gershwin tribute a reality.

Stereophile thanks Steven K. Lee (Canorus Inc.), Mike Story (dCS Ltd.); Nancy Belt (Nagra USA); John La Grou (Millennia Media Inc.); Fred Forssell (Forssell Technologies); Richard Elen & Nancy Lopez (Apogee Electronics); Wes Dooley (Audio Engineering Associates); Bob Stuart (Meridian); Bill Low (AudioQuest); Les Edelberg (Audio Power Industries); Bryan Shaw (Digital Brothers); and Tony Chunn (First United Methodist Church, Albuquerque, New Mexico).

And special thanks to: Audio Engineering Associates, AudioQuest, B&W, dCS, Digital Domain, Dorrough, Focus Audio, Madrigal Audio Laboratories, Meridian, Sennheiser, Sonic Frontiers, and Stax, whose components were used in the monitoring and editing.