You are here

Log in or register to post comments
markcolen
markcolen's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Jul 12 2006 - 6:35am
VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW

I'm here to extol the reviews that have been published in the pages of Stereophile and to make a few remarks regarding those people who find fault with something that no one forces you to read. I will not bore you gentle reader with the specifications and a list of my main mega buck listining room however will say that as a life long subscriber to stereophile I have followed many a Stereophile ( well maybe not the Tice Clock )recommendation
Those who will not learn from the past or study history are bound to fail to appreciate what they have now. I feel very sorry for you because you will have no background or credentials to discuss your dream system....no context on which to base your knowledge. If it weren't for pioneers such as Paul Wilbur Klipsch, Edgar M. Villchur, and Henry Kloss ET Al. We would not have the great equipment we have today.
Think there's is interest in such equipment? you have only to go to eBay and see how quickly decent specimens of the AR-3, Dynaco A25 and Marantz model 10 are snapped up. We baby-boomers ( who now spend more money on brand new High end equipment then any other demographic ) may have our modern , in some cases multi channel setups, but many like me, spend much time with my prized Marantz 7c and 8B combination hooked to a pair of AR-LST speakers and enjoy, yes even marvel at the sound and the enjoyment it produces.

In short, I applaud and wait eagerly for your next retro-review. again, if you think me to be alone in this Pursuit notice that on eBay older issues of Stereophile can seen selling for as much as twenty bucks per issue ( Hint to editors of this great publication)! in fact reprints of old reviews juxtaposed with a review done todaywould certainly be a treat.
In any case thanks for publication of an outstanding magazine and keep in mind that looking back is often looking forward . Mark R. Colen

Robert Deutsch
Robert Deutsch's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: Sep 24 2005 - 3:58pm
Re: VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW


Quote:
I'm here to extol the reviews that have been published in the pages of Stereophile and to make a few remarks regarding those people who find fault with something that no one forces you to read. I will not bore you gentle reader with the specifications and a list of my main mega buck listining room however will say that as a life long subscriber to stereophile I have followed many a Stereophile ( well maybe not the Tice Clock )recommendation

As it happens, my wife and I have recently embarked on a process of getting rid of stuff that we have no real use for, and one of the items that went to Goodwill Industries was the Tice Clock. (I did not buy the Tice clock; it was send to me, and although my practice is to return to the manufacturer anything that's a loan, since Tice is not in business any more I was unable to return it to them.) It still works as a clock, and, who knows, someone who buys it at Goodwill may experience an unexplained improvement in the sound of their stereo system .

However, your memory deceives you if you think that the Tice clock was recommended by Stereophile. A search on the Stereophile web site shows several references to the Tice clock, but no recommendation. Tom Norton wrote:

"Although we followed Tice's instructions about using the clocks to the letter

Jan Vigne
Jan Vigne's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Mar 18 2006 - 12:57pm
Re: VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW


Quote:
It still works as a clock, and, who knows, someone who buys it at Goodwill may experience an unexplained improvement in the sound of their stereo system .

Amazingly and suddenly their Bose WaveMachine will actually sound like a $500 component system.

markcolen
markcolen's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Jul 12 2006 - 6:35am
Re: VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW

Gosh it's that " age" thing again lol. I must have been thinking about Stereo Review" doing the review on the clock.
ps julian D. Hirsch was a god compared to the guys who run " Sound@Tunnel Vision now. At least he knew something about testing! Have a great day!

misterdecibel
misterdecibel's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Jul 8 2006 - 9:31am
Re: VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW

I vote for the occasional review of vintage gear, and against reprints. I'd be much more interested in impressions of vintage gear in the present context.

imispgh
imispgh's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 3 months ago
Joined: May 23 2006 - 10:37am
Re: VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW

Maybe they could start with the Garrard 301 and Thorens 124 craze? Seems like their is quite a movement in restring these things. unused units regularily get over $1k on Ebay and used units close to $500 - and they are rim drive monstrocities that are about 50 years old. I would love to know how a restored unit compares to newer equipment.

(Lastly - and this is a selfish request ebcause I own a couple - I would like to see a review of the Systemdek IIX turntable. It seems to be very prevelent in the used market. Additionally neither TAS or Stereophile have ever reviewed it)

smejias
smejias's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 9 months ago
Joined: Aug 25 2005 - 10:29am
Re: VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW


Quote:
Maybe they could start with the Garrard 301 and Thorens 124 craze?

In our April and May issues, Art Dudley listens to a rebuilt Thorens 124.

imispgh
imispgh's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 3 months ago
Joined: May 23 2006 - 10:37am
Re: VINTAGE EQUIPMMENT REVIEW

Damn - I blew that. And I read those. (Too be honest I didn't understand there was a movement until recently and actually focused on the Garrad more - as it looks cooler. Not much of an excuse though)

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading