You are here

Log in or register to post comments
jazzfan
jazzfan's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 days ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 8:55am
Vandersteen Model Seven Review

I enjoyed Michael Fremer's excellent review of the new Vnadersteen Model Seven loudspeakers but I do have few questions.

1) In the review Mr. Fremer tells how Richard Vandersteen came all from California to New Jersey to help Mr. Fremer set up the speakers. Exactly what is the amount of set up help a normal (i.e. paying) customer can expect from Vandersteen upon purchase of these rather expensive speakers? Will a minimum wage flunky from the dealer come to one's house or will Mr. Vandersteen himself magically appear?

2) Mr. Fremer mentions both in the review and in the associated equipment listing that a Sooloos Music Server was used as a digital source. Was the Camelot Roundtable DAC also listed in the associated equipment listing used in conjunction with the Sooloos and if not, what DAC was used with the Sooloos?

Thanks

Michael Fremer
Michael Fremer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 months 1 week ago
Joined: Jun 26 2006 - 9:49am
Re: Vandersteen Model Seven Review


Quote:
I enjoyed Michael Fremer's excellent review of the new Vnadersteen Model Seven loudspeakers but I do have few questions.

1) In the review Mr. Fremer tells how Richard Vandersteen came all from California to New Jersey to help Mr. Fremer set up the speakers. Exactly what is the amount of set up help a normal (i.e. paying) customer can expect from Vandersteen upon purchase of these rather expensive speakers? Will a minimum wage flunky from the dealer come to one's house or will Mr. Vandersteen himself magically appear?

2) Mr. Fremer mentions both in the review and in the associated equipment listing that a Sooloos Music Server was used as a digital source. Was the Camelot Roundtable DAC also listed in the associated equipment listing used in conjunction with the Sooloos and if not, what DAC was used with the Sooloos?

Thanks

While it's not likely that Richard Vandersteen will come to most if any retail customers' homes to do the install, all of his retailers are well-trained and quite capable of doing an equally good job. The bottom end of the speaker---the active subwoofer-- is essentially unchanged from previous models and all Vandersteen dealers have a great deal of experience with that. Plus they are all given laser-based pointers that help with rake angle, toe-in etc.

I wouldn't be concerned about that! I either had the Camelot Anagram Technologies DAC for that review, or I was using the one built into the Musical Fidelty DM25 CD player. I can't remember right now...

jazzfan
jazzfan's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 days ago
Joined: Sep 8 2005 - 8:55am
Re: Vandersteen Model Seven Review

Thank you Mike for quick and thorough response. That answers my questions.

I am curious about the Sooloos system since I have using the Logitech's Squeezebox units (A Transporter, a Squeezebox receiver and a couple of Squeezebox Classics) for several years now and I've heard and read quite a few good things about the Sooloos system. One of the things I have read is that the Sooloos' built in DAC is not quite up to the level of the rest of the system and the $12,000 system price. Do you use an external DAC with the Sooloos for this reason or is there another equally compelling reason for the use of an external DAC?

rflavell
rflavell's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 7 months ago
Joined: Mar 18 2007 - 9:45pm
Re: Vandersteen Model Seven Review

I would like to add that I own the vandersteen quatros and during their installation my dealer's installer called Richard Vandersteen on his cellphone with specific question concerning my room and speaker setup. Mr. Vandersteen had recently met with my dealer and his staff to train them in some new optimization techniques. The level of knowledge and service from Mr. Vandersteen and my dealer has been most impressive.

kana813
kana813's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 2 weeks ago
Joined: Sep 9 2005 - 2:45pm
Re: Vandersteen Model Seven Review

TAS's REG comments on the Vandersteen Model Seven Review:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/regsaudioforum/message/32271

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading