You are here

Log in or register to post comments
14 Years
14 Years's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Feb 23 2008 - 10:19am
Tannoy Revolution - Review?

Hi all,

New here obviously. I just wanted to make a thread asking about the new Tannoy Revolution line of speakers. Does Stereophile plan on reviewing one of these anytime soon?

Have any posters here listened to this line and/or can offer some insights? What about insights on the dual concentric technology?

Links:

WhatHiFi Summary Tannoy Website

I just bought a pair of Tannoy Mercury F2s for my stereo system and the store offers a one year upgrade option whereby if I buy speakers costing +25% I will get my money back on the F2s. So of course, this makes the Tannoy Revolution DC6 a natural upgrade option.

The store also carries B&W. I heard the 685 and did like the sound...but there's a lot of info on the 685 out there and not much on the Tannoy. I've not yet heard the DC6 because the store did not have the speaker in yet. It's brand new and should be in stock soon.

I don't necessarily need to trade in the F2s. If I really like them I might keep them, and just buy another set of speakers. The Revolutions, as far as I figure, will cost about $1,400. After trade they'd cost $1,100. So I could keep the F2s and buy something else for about $1K - or even the DC6 since we're talking only a $300 difference.

As you can see, I'd like to move up to something costing $1,000 or $1,500. The DC6 is a natural option but I'm open to all other brands. I'm a bit all over the place with this post, but hopefully this gives everyone a bit of context.

Thanks in advance!

Jabberwock
Jabberwock's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: Jan 24 2008 - 3:22pm
Re: Tannoy Revolution - Review?

I was listening to the DC4s yesterday, I went in to buy cable. I loved the sound of the DC4s, you should try listening to them, they are a definite upgrade from the F2s (listened to them much earlier). But I do think they need a sub, when the dealer added the sub everything became better the mid range was smoother as well. I am also considering upgrading to these now that I have heard them.

jackfish
jackfish's picture
Offline
Last seen: 10 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Dec 19 2005 - 2:42pm
Re: Tannoy Revolution - Review?

What other loudspeaker brands do they carry? If you must have your $300 back then I would just listen to as many as they have within your budget and pick the one that sounds best to you. If you keep your current loudspeakers then you have many possibilities.


Quote:
May your posts be full of eudimonia.

And may all yours be lagom.

14 Years
14 Years's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Feb 23 2008 - 10:19am
Re: Tannoy Revolution - Review?

Thanks for that Jabberwock. I figure with Tannoy's reputation a new speaker from them should be good regardless, but it's nice to hear some positive feedback.


Quote:
What other loudspeaker brands do they carry? If you must have your $300 back then I would just listen to as many as they have within your budget and pick the one that sounds best to you. If you keep your current loudspeakers then you have many possibilities.

Well, B&W is the other main brand they carry, so the 685 will probably be the other speaker I put up against the DC6 (that's assuming I decide to trade in my F2s). Anthony Gallo and Speakercraft are two other brands offered, however I don't know much about these. AG almost seems more like a lifestyle brand from a quick scan of their website.

If I decide to look outside this selection of speakers, I've got a few others in mind...the Paradigm Reference Signature s1, EPOS m12i, and the Ascend Sierra-1 are all speakers that have caught my eye. Harbeth and Spendor are brands that seem to get a lot of respect so I may need to listen to those too.

brock_boogie
brock_boogie's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Jan 10 2008 - 6:21pm
Re: Tannoy Revolution - Review?

Have you had the time to audition the Tannoys, yet? How's your search going? The Revolutions are on my audition list, too. So when I get a chance to hear them, I'll let ya know my opinion. I also want to hear the B&W & Epos, too (M12i and M16i).

Good luck!

14 Years
14 Years's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Feb 23 2008 - 10:19am
Re: Tannoy Revolution - Review?

Nope, haven't had the chance yet. Because the Tannoy dealer is a long drive from where I am I plan on going when I've got some days off work later this summer. It'll probably be late July when I go. But I will report back to provide my opinion.

WhatHiFi had a review of a floorstanding model (the Signature DC6T) in their magazine this month. Unfortunately, their reviews are not very detailed. But they did give it five stars, mentioning the only downside to the speaker is a bit of a harsh treble. Therefore they recommend matching it to a warm amp.

EzMe
EzMe's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 1 week ago
Joined: Aug 9 2012 - 4:47am
An update on this please?
14 Years wrote:

Nope, haven't had the chance yet. Because the Tannoy dealer is a long drive from where I am I plan on going when I've got some days off work later this summer. It'll probably be late July when I go. But I will report back to provide my opinion.

Any updates on this? I'm quite curious :)

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading