You are here

Log in or register to post comments
DPM
DPM's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Apr 20 2006 - 8:50pm
Speaker systems sold direct reviewed by Stereophile?

Tyler Acoustics. Outlaw Audio. Axiom. These are but a few of the many companies who sell their products direct to the customer. I think it would be a great idea for Stereophile to start performing reviews on these and other web-based company's speaker systems. Indeed, maybe Stereophile should even consider dedicating an entire issue to those companies who exclusively sell their wares (including electronics) directly to the consumer.

Now, Stereophile has already dipped its toe into this pool with the review of the Outlaw Audio stereo receiver and a few other products here and there. But since speakers have more of an influence on the sound of a system than the electronics I feel more reviews of these direct-sold transducers would be quite helpful to the Stereophile readership.

Personally, I'd love to see a review of Tyler Acoustics' Woodmere towers.

FredT300B
FredT300B's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 16 2005 - 3:50am
Re: Speaker systems sold direct reviewed by Stereophile?

As I understand it Stereophile's review policy requries the manufacturer to be a "going concern" and willing to provide a review sample for the time period needed for an effective review, which I'm sure eliminates many startup speaker builders. But I agree it would be good to see more frequent reviews of some of the better established non-mainstream speaker manufacturer's products. Like it or not, direct internet marketing is an important trend in high end two channel sound.

I will also be interested in Stereophile's coverage of speakers at the RMAF. This show attracts a relatively larger number of non-mainsream internet sellers. I didn't see Tyler on the exhibitor list, but Salk Sounds, Selah Audio, RAW Acoustics, and GR Research will be exhibiting their speakers.

CECE
CECE's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 17 2005 - 8:16am
Re: Speaker systems sold direct reviewed by Stereophile?

Let's see some AVa Audio by VanAlstine... www.avahifi.com Frank has been designing and selling direct for almost 40 years!!! Outlaw and most others are newbies, why should they get first exposure in StereoPhile, AVA has been ignored a long time..latest Hybrid stuff is great....incoming will be teh latest Ultra Hybrid DAC..to replace the older Omega III which I can trrade in for some bucks towards the latest and greatest... Let's see a review of some of the AVA Ultra Hybrid line, pre, amps, DAC etc..even my Phase converter to drive my 4 OmegaStar EX Hafler/AVA is Ultra hybrid latest ckts....

FredT300B
FredT300B's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Sep 16 2005 - 3:50am
Re: Speaker systems sold direct reviewed by Stereophile?


Quote:
Let's see some AVa Audio by VanAlstine... www.avahifi.com Frank has been designing and selling direct for almost 40 years!!!

One of the direct internet speaker sellers I mentioned above, Salk Signature Sound, will be exhibiting with Van Alstine at the RMAF. I look forward to Stereophile's coverage of the event.

http://www.salksound.com/ht3.html

gkc
gkc's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Feb 24 2006 - 11:51am
Re: Speaker systems sold direct reviewed by Stereophile?

Hi, Fred. I know Bob Harley (TAS) is going to be there. I may be, too. Many of the folks I missed at HE look to the Rocky Mountain show as the event of the year (Avalon, Boulder, etc.) I, too, hope that Stereophile writers will represent my favorite magazine and detail some of the "internet" manufacturers that are struggling to get a toe-hold in the high-end business. I appreciate the fact that Stereophile's policy (to review only well-distributed products) is well-intended, to protect readers from start-up operations that never get past that stage. But times are changing, and I notice even Stereophile is starting to mention some of these little known brands in some of their articles more often.

DPM
DPM's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Apr 20 2006 - 8:50pm
Re: Speaker systems sold direct reviewed by Stereophile?

Well, what do you know? In the new issue Wes Phillips reviews Portal Audio's Paladin monoblocks. I also see that the Absolute Sound has a review of Outlaw Audio's stereo receiver. I have to say I'm liking this trend.

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading