You are here

Log in or register to post comments
haroon
haroon's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 9 months ago
Joined: Sep 5 2005 - 12:01am
Reviewers

We

smejias
smejias's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 11 months ago
Joined: Aug 25 2005 - 10:29am
Re: Reviewers

Space within the print magazine is of very high value, obviously. To add images of our reviewers listening rooms would mean leaving something else out.

Our new Photo Gallery, however, allows reviewers and editors to upload images of their listening rooms. In the gallery, for instance, you'll even find images of John Atkinson's system. In time, other reviewers may also post images, but the decision to do so is theirs.

Windzilla
Windzilla's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 10 months ago
Joined: Oct 19 2005 - 10:10pm
Re: Reviewers


Quote:
This will also make reviews of loudspeakers more reliable as readers will be able to see the room/circumstance under which the given loudspeaker performed.

As much as I too would enjoy such pictures to compliment my reading (whenever my phile subscription arrives, it

nrchy
nrchy's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Mar 27 2006 - 3:03pm
Re: Reviewers

It would be very helpful to 'see' the reviewers room and know the context in which a review was written.

I wonder how often people take pot-shots at reviewers because their expereince was different simply because the room is soo much different. The significance of room inter-relations and interactions cannot be overstated!

I tend to be more sympathetic towards reviewers, maybe because they take so much abuse for simply trying to be helpful. Has anyone ever castigated a 'good sam' for pulling over and helping someone change a flat tire??? They do it to reviewers!

Windzilla
Windzilla's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 10 months ago
Joined: Oct 19 2005 - 10:10pm
Re: Reviewers


Quote:
Has anyone ever castigated a 'good sam' for pulling over and helping someone change a flat tire??? They do it to reviewers!

I can't site you any, but I'm sure it happens enough that we put Good Samaritan laws on the books (albeit not for volunteer flat fixers). Nevertheless I agree that room acoustics are almost as important for sound as anything else.

haroon
haroon's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 9 months ago
Joined: Sep 5 2005 - 12:01am
Re: Reviewers

Sorry, I forgot to login and now the last response was posted from Anonymous instead of me.

Haroon

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading