You are here

Log in or register to post comments
Stephen Scharf
Stephen Scharf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 2 days ago
Joined: Nov 19 2008 - 9:36pm
Ping JA: Dynaudio Sapphire review-recommended with a bullet?

Hi John,

A lot of folks in the Dynaudio owner's thread in AVS forum are very interested in the Sapphire review in this month's issue. Can you explain what "recommended with a bullet" means? Folks there (including myself) aren't really sure what that means.

Thanks,
Stephen.

linden518
linden518's picture
Offline
Last seen: Never ago
Joined: Dec 12 2007 - 5:34am
Re: Ping JA: Dynaudio Sapphire review-recommended with a bullet?

Probably means with some reservation or caveat, given JA's observance of some not-so-admirable qualities in the review?

BillB
BillB's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: Aug 15 2007 - 2:04pm
Re: Ping JA: Dynaudio Sapphire review-recommended with a bullet?

"with a bullet" usually means, in Top 40 and other music popularity lists, that a song is rising quickly in popularity - that it's "hot".
Don't know what it means in the speaker review!

Editor
Editor's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 8 months ago
Joined: Sep 1 2005 - 8:56am
Re: Ping JA: Dynaudio Sapphire review-recommended with a bullet?


Quote:
"with a bullet" usually means, in Top 40 and other music popularity lists, that a song is rising quickly in popularity - that it's "hot".

That was pretty mch what I meant. Bit of poetic license.

John Atkinson
Editor, Stereophile

tom collins
tom collins's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: Apr 3 2007 - 11:54am
Re: Ping JA: Dynaudio Sapphire review-recommended with a bullet?

i don't care how you say it, i want a pair of those in my room so bad, i can taste it.

Stephen Scharf
Stephen Scharf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 2 days ago
Joined: Nov 19 2008 - 9:36pm
Re: Ping JA: Dynaudio Sapphire review-recommended with a bullet?

Me, too.

I'm new to Dynaudios (since Thanksgiving, roughly), and only have a pair of lowly Audience 72's. But I absolutely *love* them. They are so easy to live with, very musical, and get the delicate parts of music really, really right.
I'm quite curious about the Contour S3.4's, actually.

  • X
    Enter your Stereophile.com username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading